Heritage in North Yorkshire

North Yorkshire is a county in the Yorkshire and the Humber region of North East England. The area was created by the local Government Act 1972, and covers 8,654 square kilometres.

North Yorkshire is the largest county in the country, and 40% of it is covered in National Parks. Most of the North York Moors and Yorkshire Dales are within North Yorkshire’s boundaries.

The largest cities in the county include York, Harrogate, Middlesbrough and Scarborough. The county town is Northallerton.

The History of North Yorkshire

North Yorkshire was officially formed in 1974 with the Local Government Act 1972, and it includes most of the North Riding lands as well as the northern portion of North Riding. York and the far eastern areas of East Riding fall into the North Yorkshire territory as well.

The county operates with a cabinet-style council, which is responsible for making decisions for North Yorkshire.

Today, North Yorkshire is considered an affluent area, with a low unemployment rate and services being the main industry.

North Riding of Yorkshire

Much of the historic North Riding of Yorkshire belongs to North Yorkshire county. The riding, or subdivision, is one of three in the country, and has been used as a Lieutenancy area since the Restoration.

In the English Civil War, North Yorkshire sided primarily with the royalists. The other areas of Yorkshire, on the other hand, mainly supported the parliamentarians.

In ancient England, lands were divided into hundreds. Yorkshire was the first county to have been divided into three ridings. These three ridings were then divided into wapentakes. There were thirteen wapentakes in North Riding, which included: Langbaurgh East, Gilling West, Gilling East, Hang West, Hand East, Halikeld, Allertonshire, Ryedale, Pickering Lythe, Bulmer, Birdforth, Langbaurgh West and Whitby Strand.

North Yorkshire Historic Sites

The county of North Yorkshire is home to several historic sites and places of interest, which include:

Bolton Abbey

An estate located in Wharfedale, Bolton Abbey gets its name from the ruins of the Augustinian monastery of the 12th century.

The estate is open to the public, and includes many miles of walking paths.

The monastery was founded in 1120, and sits on 33,000 acres.

Bolton Castle

Located in Wensleydale, Bolton Castle dates back to the 14th century and is a Scheduled Ancient Monument and Grade I listed building.

Although the castle was damaged in the English Civil War, it has never been sold and still remains with the descendants of the Scrope family.

You are donating to : Greennature Foundation

How much would you like to donate?
$10 $20 $30
Would you like to make regular donations? I would like to make donation(s)
How many times would you like this to recur? (including this payment) *
Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Additional Note